Day One Musings…Addis Ababa

2013-03-01 15.38.31

tomoco coffee bar

I’m in Ethiopia!! Kiva has requested that all of us fellows leave Kenya for the upcoming election. Personally, I think that nothing much will happen this time around except in certain parts of the country where there are several tribes in close quarters and tight local races. Uhuru and Raila are polling around 44/45% each and since one has to get 51% to be declared a winner, we will likely have a run-off in April. Its unclear if we will get asked to leave again.

But… Lucky me, I found a $200 rt ticket to Addis so here I am happy as can be getting to explore Ethiopia for 12 days. Its very different than Nairobi – not nearly as modern and westernized, but also way more friendly feeling and less of a big anonymous city. There is virtually no violent crime. Loving letting down my guard a little bit and not having to constantly be looking over my shoulder.

Day one musings: 

  • The coffee is incredible. Good thing since they started the coffee trade – apparently coffee still grows wild in some areas of the country! I was overjoyed to find the best macchiato I’ve ever had at an outdoor cafe (unheard of in Nairobi!) on the University grounds. It was $.26. Thats right. twenty-six cents. Never going home.
  • I rode in a mini-bus/matatu today. It was the first time I’ve done this since getting to Africa a month ago. Somehow it seemed way easier/safer here than Nairobi. Bonus points: The driver had photos of every emperor on the ceiling, his dash was covered in tan faux lion main, and this visor had brown shaggy faux lions main and he was playing epicly awesome music whist shouting about manchester united. I’ve since found out lions mane is the most popular way to decorate one’s vehicle.
  • There are literally 2-5 shoe shine guys on most every corner, and people will shoe shine anything! The standard dress shoes, heels, sandals and the best – white tennis shoes! My corduroy TOMs getting dustier every day aren’t looking so great…
  • When someone gives you bread butter and some unidentified dark red spread…. don’t assume its jelly. Its not. Its burn your mouth off Awaze, but its damn good!
  • If you need to cross a 14 lane street (and why dont they have these in nairobi!) follow the locals and be prepared to run.

One response to “Day One Musings…Addis Ababa

  1. Hear the election was 50.07 – are you heading back? Maybe you’re in the Denakil Depression now? Hotter than hell 🙂 Look forward to reading more – Sherry and basketball kids from GT Guesthouse

Leave a comment